American Theatre Wing Now Accepting Applications for 2011 Jonathan Larson Grants

by Stage Directions
NEW YORK—The American Theatre Wing is accepting applications for the 2011 Jonathan Larson Grants.  The grants, given annually to honor emerging composers, lyricists and book writers, help to continue Tony Award-winning composer Jonathan Larson’s dream of infusing musical theatre with a contemporary, joyful, urban vitality. Applications must be post marked by September 1, 2010.  Recipients will be announced in January 2011. The grants will be presented and recipients’ work will be showcased for an invited industry audience in late winter, 2011.

For 2011, all applications must include book, music, and lyrics from one or more works of musical theatre. Individuals may apply for support of their work if it includes all three disciplines. Regular collaborators are encouraged to apply as a team and submit one application.  Applicants may only apply once per grant cycle.  For complete guidelines and application materials, visit

Originally administered by the Jonathan Larson Performing Arts Foundation (from 1997-2008), the Jonathan Larson Grants became a part of The Wing in 2009, adding to the organization’s storied history of programs designed to support theatre professionals at the beginning of their careers.  Under the Jonathan Larson Performing Arts Foundation and now the American Theatre Wing, more than 80 composers, lyricists and book writers were recognized at the start of their careers. 

 Past recipients of Jonathan Larson Grants include Mark Allen, Nell Benjamin, John Bucchino, Kirsten Childs, Ricky Ian Gordon, Amanda Green, Joe Iconis, Michael Korie, Dave Malloy, Thomas Mizer, Curtis Moore and Ryan Scott Oliver.  Last year’s recipients were Peter Lerman, Daniel Maté, and songwriting team Michael Kooman (music) and Christopher Dimond (book & lyrics). 

To learn more about the American Theatre Wing, please visit