USITT 2017 Board of Directors Election Results

by Michael Eddy
USITT’s President-Elect, Dan Culhane
USITT’s President-Elect, Dan Culhane

SYRACUSE, NY—USITT have announced the results of the 2017 USITT Board of Directors election, with a new president, secretary, vice presidents of commissions and six directors being chosen. The board oversees leadership of USITT, the United States Institute for Theatre Technology, the national non-profit for performing arts design and technology professionals. 

Further information from USITT (

USITT’s President-Elect, Dan Culhane, will serve his 3-year term as President beginning June 30, 2018. Culhane currently chairs the Finance Committee and is a member of the Grants and Fellowships Committee. He has been a Director at Large from 2005-2012, during which time, Culhane was Chairman of both the Executive Director Search and Audit Committees. Additionally, he was a member of the Transition Advisory and the Awards committees.

USITT has also elected a new Secretary, Paul Brunner, and re-elected VP-Commissions, Carolyn Satter and VP-Conferences, Jack Feivou.

USITT’s re-elected directors include:

  • Karen Maness
  • Rafael Jaen
  • Shane Kelly
  • Elynmarie Kazle

USITT’s newly elected directors include:

  • Deb Sherrer
  • Shan Ayers

The above will begin their term of office beginning July 1, 2017