33rd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards Nominations Announced

by Stage Directions

The Off-Broadway League has announced nominations for the 33rd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway. The Lortel Awards, which honor the work of theatre makers Off-Broadway will be presented on Sunday, May 6, 2018 at NYU Skirball Center. This year's event will be hosted by actors Laura Benanti and Jason Jones. It will once again serve as a benefit for The Actors Fund.

Leading the nominations this year are: KPOP, the Korean Pop musical produced by Ars Nova in association with Ma-Yi Theater Company and Woodshed Collective, nominated for nine awards including Outstanding Musical; New York Theatre Workshop’s play, Mary Jane, with six nominations; Bella: An American Tall Tale, from Playwrights Horizons, earned six nominations including Outstanding Musical; Signature Theatre’s Jesus Hopped The ‘A’ Train is the most nominated revival, including Outstanding Revival.

This year includes a number of individual double nominees in the same category: Bray Poor in the category of Outstanding Sound Design, Dede M. Ayite in the category of Outstanding Costume Design, and Suzan-Lori Parks in the category of Outstanding Revival. Another individual double nominee, in different categories and productions, included Jeanette Oi-Sok Yew, nominated for both Outstanding Lighting Design (KPOP) and Outstanding Projection Design (Relevance).

The 2018 Lucille Lortel Awards, will posthumously elect composer Michael Friedman onto the Playwrights’ Sidewalk in front of the Lucille Lortel Theatre. Friedman was a Lucille Lortel Award winner for Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson. Friedman died September 9, 2017, at the age of 41 following complications due to HIV/AIDS. His other works include This Beautiful City, Saved, The Fortress of Solitude, and Pretty Filthy.

The Design Nominations are:
Outstanding Scenic Design
Gabriel Hainer Evansohn, KPOP
Anna Fleischle, Hangmen
Laura Jellinek, Mary Jane
Amy Rubin, Miles for Mary
Louisa Thompson, In The Blood

Outstanding Costume Design
Dede M. Ayite, Bella: An American Tall Tale
Dede M. Ayite, School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play
Tricia Barsamian, KPOP
Tilly Grimes, The Government Inspector
Emily Rebholz, The Low Road

Outstanding Lighting Design
Alan C. Edwards, Harry Clarke
Bradley King, The Treasurer
Ben Stanton, The Low Road
Japhy Weideman, Mary Jane
Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew, KPOP

Outstanding Sound Design
Mikhail Fiksel, The Treasurer
Leah Gelpe, Mary Jane
Bray Poor, The Last Match
Bray Poor, Office Hour
Brandon Wolcott, After the Blast

Outstanding Projection Design
Lucy Mackinnon, After the Blast
Alexander V. Nichols, Ernest Shackleton Loves Me
Brad Peterson, The Stone Witch
Hannah Wasileski, Pipeline
Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew, Relevance

Additional nominations include:
Outstanding Play

Cost of Living by Martyna Majok
Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club in association with Williamstown Theatre Festival

Miles for Mary by Marc Bovino, Joe Curnutte, Michael Dalto, Lila Neugebauer, and Stephanie Wright Thompson
Produced by Playwrights Horizons

Pipeline by Dominique Morisseau
Produced by Lincoln Center Theater

School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play by Jocelyn Bioh
Produced by MCC Theater

The Treasurer by Max Posner
Produced by Playwrights Horizons

Outstanding Musical
Bella: An American Tall Tale -Book, music, and lyrics by Kirsten Childs
Produced by Playwrights Horizons

Desperate Measures -Book and lyrics by Peter Kellogg, music by David Friedman
Produced by The York Theatre Company in association with Cecilia Lin and Hu Guo

Hundred Days By the Bengsons and Sarah Gancher
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

Jerry Springer – The Opera -Music and lyrics by Richard Thomas, book and additional lyrics by Stewart Lee and Richard Thomas
Produced by The New Group

KPOP Conceived by Woodshed Collective and Jason Kim, book by Jason Kim, music and lyrics by Helen Park and Max Vernon, immersive design by Woodshed Collective
Produced by Ars Nova in association with Ma-Yi Theater Company and Woodshed Collective


Outstanding Revival
Fucking A by Suzan-Lori Parks
Produced by Signature Theatre

In The Blood by Suzan-Lori Parks
Produced by Signature Theatre

Jesus Hopped The ‘A’ Train by Stephen Adly Guirgis
Produced by Signature Theatre

The Government Inspector Adapted by Jeffrey Hatcher from Revizor by Nikolai Gogol
Produced by Red Bull Theater

Torch Song by Harvey Fierstein
Produced by Second Stage Theater in association with Richie Jackson

Outstanding Solo Show
Harry Clarke by David Cale, performed by Billy Crudup
Produced by Vineyard Theatre in association with Audible

Who’s Holiday! by Matthew Lombardo, performed by Lesli Margherita
Produced by Whoville Theatrical, Scott and Jenny Beck, Jason Shaw, Ken Fakler, Drew Desky/Dane Levens, Darren Bagert

Outstanding Director
Lileana Blain-Cruz, Pipeline
Michael Greif, The Low Road
Anne Kauffman, Mary Jane
Lila Neugebauer, Miles for Mary
Leigh Silverman, Harry Clarke

Outstanding Choreographer
Camille A. Brown, Bella: An American Tall Tale
Bill Castellino, Desperate Measures
Byron Easley, X: Or, Betty Shabazz v. The Nation
Sonya Tayeh, The Lucky Ones
Jennifer Weber, KPOP

Further information and the complete list of nominations go to: www.LortelAwards.org