Zina Goldrich & Marcy Heisler Receive Fred Ebb Award

by Jacob Coakley

NEW YORK—Author Marcy Heisler and Composer Zina Goldrich, who have been collaborating since 1993, are the recipients of this year’s Fred Ebb Award for Musical Theatre Songwriting, the fifth annual. They also received 2009 Drama Desk Award nominations for Outstanding Lyrics and Music for Dear Edwina.. and are past recipients of ASCAP's Richard Rodgers New Horizons Theatre Award.

Praised by The New York Times as a “bright inventive production” that “beguiles with rock, rag, rhythm and blues and doo wop among other attractions,” Heisler and Golrich’s Junie B. Jones enjoyed three highly successful off-Broadway runs under the auspices of Theatreworks USA, earning two Lucille Lortel Award nominations.

As performers, Heisler and Goldrich have toured domestically and internationally, presenting their music at some of the finest venues, including Carnegie Hall, Canada's “Juste Pour Rire” comedy festival and the Kennedy Center. Raved The Village Voice: “[They] have been turning out smart lyrics and sophisticated melodies for some time. Keep in mind they're the ones whose nifty love song rhymed 'quesadilla' with 'IKEA.'” Kristin Chenoweth popularized their song, “Taylor, the Latte Boy,” performing it on The Today Show and The Rosie O’Donnell Show and in concert at Carnegie Hall, the Metropolitan Opera House, and the White House.

Together and apart, Heisler and Goldrich have provided original songs for The Disney Channel, Disney Interactive and Feature Animation projects, Disney Theatricals, PBS, and Nickelodeon.  November 2009 marks the release of MARCY AND ZINA: The Album on Yellow Sound Label, and their Songbooks Volumes 1 and 2 are available from Hal Leonard. They have many new theatrical projects in the works, including an adaptation of the tale of Snow White and Rose Red, a Cyrano story set in the Brill Building Era, and a musical version of Freakin' Fabulous, based on the bestselling book by author and stylemaker Clinton Kelly of TLC's What Not To Wear. 

For more information about Heisler and Goldrigh, please log on to www.marcyandzina.com.

The Fred Ebb Award recognizes excellence in musical theatre songwriting, by a songwriter or songwriting team that has not yet achieved significant commercial success. The award is meant to encourage and support aspiring songwriters to create new works for the musical theatre. The prize includes a $50,000 award.  In addition to the monetary prize, the Fred Ebb Foundation will produce a one-night-only showcase of Heisler and Golrich’s work in the spring of 2010.  The Fred Ebb Foundation is funded by royalties from Mr. Ebb’s vast catalogue of work.  The selection panel includes Mitchell S. Bernard, Sheldon Harnick, David Loud, Marin Mazzie, Tim Pinckney and Arthur Whitelaw.

For more information about the Foundation, please visit www.fredebbfoundation.org.