The 62nd Annual Obie Awards

by Michael Eddy

Earlier this week the American Theatre Wing and The Village Voice announced the winners of the 62nd Annual Obie Awards®. Jennifer Kidwell & Scott R. Sheppard’s Underground Railroad Game, produced by Ars Nova, and J.T. Roger’s Oslo, produced by Lincoln Center Theater, shared the Obie Awards for Best New American Theatre Work, which is accompanied by a $500 prize each. Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Paula Vogel received a special Obie Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Further information from The Obie Awards (


  • Riccardo Hernandez, Sustained Excellence of Set Design
  • Dane Laffrey, Sustained Excellence of Set and Costume Design
  • Jared Mezzocchi, Projection Design, Vietgone (Manhattan Theatre Club)
  • Ryan Rumery, Sustained Excellence of Sound Design
  • Scott Zielinski, Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design

Best New American Theatre Work ($500 prize each)

  • Jennifer Kidwell and Scott R. Sheppard, Underground Railroad Game (Ars Nova)
  • J.T. Rogers, Oslo (Lincoln Center Theater)


  • Christopher Chen, Caught (The Play Company at La MaMa)
  • Lynn Nottage, Sweat (The Public Theater)

Musical Theater

  • Itamar Moses (book) and David Yazbek (music & lyrics), The Band’s Visit (Atlantic Theater Company)


  • Arin Arbus, The Skin of Our Teeth (Theatre for a New Audience)
  • Lileana Blain-Cruz, The Death of the Last Black Man in the Whole Entire World (Signature Theatre Company)
  • David Cromer, The Band’s Visit (Atlantic Theater Company)
  • Jack Cummings III, Picnic (Transport Group)
  • Rebecca Taichman, Indecent (Vineyard Theatre)


  • Bartlett Sher (director) and the cast of Oslo (Lincoln Center Theater)
    Michael Aronov, Anthony Azizi, Adam Dannheisser, Jennifer Ehle, Daniel Jenkins, Dariush Kashani, Jeb Kreager, Jefferson Mays, Christopher McHale, Daniel Oreskes, Angela Pierce, Henny Russell, Joseph Siravo, T. Ryder Smith
  • Lila Neugebauer (director) and the cast of The Wolves (The Playwrights Realm)
    Kate Arrington, Mia Barron, Brenna Coates, Jenna Dioguardi, Samia Finnerty, Midori Francis, Lizzy Jutila, Sarah Mezzanotte, Tedra Millan, Lauren Patten, Susannah Perkins


  • Matthew Broderick, Evening at the Talk House (The New Group) and Shining City (Irish Repertory Theatre)
  • Bobby Cannavale, The Hairy Ape (Park Avenue Armory)
  • Kevin Geer, Sustained Excellence [in memoriam]
  • Kecia Lewis, Marie and Rosetta (Atlantic Theater Company) and The Skin of Our Teeth (Theatre for a New Audience)
  • Heather MacRae, Come Back, Little Sheba (Transport Group)
  • Amy Ryan, Love, Love, Love (Roundabout Theatre Company)
  • Pete Simpson, Sustained Excellence
  • Michael Urie, Homos, or Everyone in America (Labyrinth Theater Company)

Special Citations

  • Anna Deavere Smith, Notes from the Field (Second Stage Theater)
  • Taylor Mac, A 24-Decade History of Popular Music (St. Ann’s Warehouse)

Obie Grants ($4,000 prize each)

  • Irish Repertory Theatre
  • Pearl Theatre Company
  • The Playwrights Realm

The Ross Wetzsteon Award ($3,000 prize)

  • Theatre for a New Audience

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Paula Vogel