Working from home? Switch to the DIGITAL edition of Stage Directions. CLICK HERE to signup now!

34th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards Recipients

Stage Directions • Industry News • May 7, 2019

The 2019 Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were handed out to recipients in 19 categories, with one special award and three honorary awards also bestowed. The Lortel Awards were distributed in a ceremony at NYU Skirball Center hosted by Drama Desk Award-nominated writer and performer of The New One, Mike Birbiglia. The Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the Off-Broadway League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Theatre Foundation. Additional support is provided by TDF.

Classic Stage Company’s Carmen Jones, with Book and Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II and Music by Georges Bizet led the pack earning four awards. Outstanding Play went to Lincoln Center Theater/ LCT3’s Pass Over, which also earned Gabriel Ebert the award for Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play. Ars Nova’s Rags Parkland Sings The Songs Of The Future took home the award for Outstanding Musical, while Phoebe Waller-Bridge’s FLEABAG was awarded Outstanding Solo Show.

This year’s Voting Committee chose to present the award for Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience to Irish Repertory Theatre’s On Beckett. Special honorees this year included Telsey + Company for Outstanding Body of Work Award; María Irene Fornés was posthumously inducted onto the Playwrights’ Sidewalk; and Off-Broadway League President Terry Byrne was recognized with the Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award.

Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors’ Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, United Scenic Artists, the Lucille Lortel Theatre Foundation, in addition to theatre journalists and academics and other Off-Broadway professionals, serve on the Voting Committee.

Nominees and Recipients of The 2019 Lucille Lortel Design Awards”
*Please note: all nominees are listed with the award recipient in BOLD.

Outstanding Scenic Design

  • Wilson Chin, Pass Over
  • Charlie Corcoran, The Shadow of a Gunman
  • Laura Jellinek, Rags Parkland Sings The Songs Of The Future
  • Arnulfo Maldonado, Sugar In Our Wounds

Outstanding Costume Design – *TIE

  • Dede Ayite, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark
  • Montana Levi Blanco, The House That Will Not Stand
  • Jennifer Moeller, Mlima’s Tale
  • Kaye Voyce, Marys Seacole
  • Paloma Young, Alice By Heart

Outstanding Lighting Design

  • Amith Chandrashaker, Boesman and Lena
  • Lap Chi Chu, Mlima’s Tale
  • Bradley King, Apologia
  • Barbara Samuels, Rags Parkland Sings The Songs Of The Future
  • Yi Zhao, The House That Will Not Stand

Outstanding Sound Design

  • Matt Hubbs, Boesman and Lena
  • Dan Moses Schreier, Carmen Jones
  • Jane Shaw, I Was Most Alive with You
  • Mikaal Sulaiman, Rags Parkland Sings The Songs Of The Future
  • Isobel Waller-Bridge, FLEABAG

Outstanding Projection Design

  • Katherine Freer, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark
  • Luke Halls, Girls & Boys
  • Alex Basco Koch, Be More Chill
  • Alex Basco Koch, Fireflies
  • Tal Yarden, Superhero

For the full list of recipients and information about the Lucille Lortell Awards:



The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!