Working from home? Switch to the DIGITAL edition of Stage Directions. CLICK HERE to signup now!
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

USITT20 News: The USITT Winners are Announced

Stage Directions • Industry News • February 7, 2020

The results are in! Awards season is an exciting time for many in the entertainment industry. From the Grammys to the Golden Globes, there’s an abundance of award excitement — and USITT is no exception. All award winners will be formally recognized at USITT 2020 in Houston. We’re less than two months away from all the action, so let’s meet and share our congratulations with this year’s award winners.

Interested in the work and stories of the USITT 2020 award winners? USITT will be sitting down with these talents one-on-one in Houston to discuss their wins, current work, and some other exciting things. USITT will be sharing these stories through podcasts, social media, and in its newsletters, so keep an eye out. We will also carry these items in Stage Directions as well. We at SD send our congratulations to all of the honorees!

Oscar G. Brockett Golden Pen Award
Oscar G. Brockett Golden Pen Award, sponsored by USITT and the Oscar G. Brockett Center for Theatre History and Criticism at the University of Texas – Austin, honors an outstanding publication in the field of design and production for the performing arts. The recipient of this award is the author of an outstanding, major, recent publication in the field of design and production for the performing arts.
Winner: Alexandra Bonds

Herbert D. Greggs Award
The Herbert D. Greggs Awards promote innovative, in-depth writing about theatre design and technology in TD&T.

Honor: Caitlyn Garrity

Merit: John Huntington

Merit: Sandra Goldmark

Distinguished Achievement Awards
The Distinguished Achievement Awards honor individuals who have established meritorious career records in specific fields of expertise in any area of design or technology in the performing arts or entertainment industry.

Sound Design and Technology: Deena Kaye

Digital Media: Elaine J. McCarthy

Costume Design and Technology: Jeffrey Lieder

Engineering: Jerry Gorrell

Scene Design and Technology: Kevin Rigdon

Lighting Design and Technology: Paule Constable

Education: Scott C. Parker

USITT Rising Star Award
The Rising Star Award, sponsored by LDI/Live Design, is given annually to a young professional at the beginning of their career. The award recognizes excellence and artistic achievement in scenic, lighting, sound, projection design, or a convergence of these design disciplines.
Winner: Joe Klug

Young Designers, Managers, and Technicians Awards
The Awards for Young Designers, Managers, & Technicians in the Performing Arts, known throughout USITT as the YDMT Awards, bring recognition and support to young designers, managers, and technicians at the beginning of their careers. They are made possible by generous gifts to USITT from their sponsors.

The KM Fabrics, Inc. Technical Production Award: Dashiell Menard

Bernhard R. Works, Frederick A. Buerki Scenic Technology Award: Yaro Yarashevich

Zelma H. Weisfeld Costume Design & Technology Award: Brooke Nicole Kesler

USITT Award for Scene Design Sponsored by Rose Brand: Afsaneh Aayani

The Barbizon Lighting Company Jonathan Resnick Lighting Award: Jasmine Lesane

Robert E. Cohen Sound Achievement Award: Jeff Sherwood

Richard Hay Undergraduate Scene Design Award: Brett Sellitti

USITT Stage Management Award Sponsored by Clear-Comm Communication Systems: Yue Shi

The Barbara Matera Award in Costume Making Sponsored by Judy Adamson: William Young

The Master Craftsmanship Award Sponsored by Bernhard R. Works: William Young

USITT Student International Travel Award
These grants were established in 2003 to assist USITT student members with international travel for education and research in theatre-related fields. They fund projects that seek new knowledge through international travel to exhibitions, productions, and collections.
Winner: Cade Sikora

USITT Member International Travel Award
This grant was established in 2004 to provide USITT members with funding for international travel for advanced research and education in theatre-related fields.
Winner: Dan Ozminkowski

 Susan Hilferty

Joel E. Rubin Founder’s Award
 Alexandra Bonds and Patricia McKay

Thomas DeGaetani Award
The Thomas DeGaetani Award, named in honor of the first USITT president, honors an outstanding lifetime contribution to the performing arts or entertainment industry by an individual or a performing arts/entertainment-focused organization living and/or working in a particular region of the country, generally near the location of the Annual Conference & Stage Expo. Recipients of this award have distinguished themselves by their service or contribution in the arts or entertainment within that region.
Winner: Eileen Morris

Honorary Lifetime Membership Award
The Honorary Lifetime Membership Award is bestowed to a small but very distinguished group of individuals who have been recognized for providing a significant period of years of continuous and extraordinary service to the Institute.
Winner: William Byrnes

Wally Rusell Professional Mentoring Award
The Wally Russell Mentoring Award is presented by USITT in partnership with the Wally Russell Foundation to honor someone who embodies the guiding hand that Wally Russell provided to many young professionals.
Winner: Kathy Perkins

Architecture Awards
Sponsored by the USITT Architecture Commission, the Architecture Awards Program honors excellence in the design and recognize architects of theatre projects for 25 years.

Bristol Old Vic; Bristol, UK
Architecture Firm: Haworth Tompkins
Theatre Consultant: Charcoalblue
Acoustical Consultant: Charcoalblue

The National Arts Centre Rejuvenation and Production Renewal; Ottowa, Ontario, Canada
Architecture Firm: Diamond Schmitt Architects
Theatre Consultant: Fisher Dachs Associates
Acoustical Consultant: Threshold Acoustics LLC.

Hancher; Iowa City, Iowa
Architecture Firm: Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects
Theatre Consultant: Theatre Projects Consultants
Acoustical Consultant: Kirkegaard Associates

Further information from USITT:

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!