Outer Critics Circle Announces 2019 Award Winners

Stage Directions • Theatre Buzz • May 14, 2019

The Outer Critics Circle, the organization of writers and commentators for media covering New York theatre, announced its award winners for the 2018-19 season in 27 categories. The design winners included Peter Hylenski for his sound design for King Kong; David Korins for his scenic design for Beetlejuice; Bob Mackie for his costume designs for The Cher Show; Bradley King for his lighting design for Hadestown; and Peter England for his projection design for King Kong.

In addition to the award nominations, based on a recommendation by the OCC Executive Committee, Special Achievement Awards will be given to The Puppetry Team that created and operates King Kong recognizing the artistry and technical achievement that brings a 2,000-pound gorilla to life and to The York Theatre Company (James Morgan, Producing Artistic Director and Evans Haile, Executive Director) in recognition of 50 years of producing new musicals, as well as classics from the past.

Celebrating its 69th season of bestowing awards of excellence in the field of theatre, the Outer Critics Circle is an association with members affiliated with more than 90 newspapers, magazines, radio and television stations, Internet, and theatre publications in America and abroad.

The annual Gala Awards Dinner and presentation of awards to the winners will be held on Thursday, May 23rd (3 PM) at Sardi’s Restaurant.

Here are the Design Award Winners along with the Nominees:
(Winners names are in bold preceded by an asterisk.*)

Outstanding Sound Design
(Play or Musical)

  • John Gromada – All My Sons
  • *Peter Hylenski – King Kong
  • Drew Levy – Oklahoma!
  • Eric Sleichim – Network
  • Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz – Hadestown

Outstanding Scenic Design
(Play or Musical)

  • Beowulf Boritt – Bernhardt/Hamlet
  • Bunny Christie – Ink
  • Rachel Hauck – Hadestown
  • Rob Howell – The Ferryman
  • *David Korins – Beetlejuice

Outstanding Costume Design
(Play or Musical)

  • Rob Howell – The Ferryman
  • *Bob Mackie – The Cher Show
  • William Ivey Long – Beetlejuice
  • William Ivey Long – Tootsie
  • Arianne Phillips – Head Over Heels

Outstanding Lighting Design
(Play or Musical)

  • Neil Austin – Ink
  • Stacey Derosier – Lewiston / Clarkston
  • *Bradley King – Hadestown
  • Jason Lyons – Sugar in Our Wounds
  • Peter Mumford – King Kong

Outstanding Projection Design
(Play or Musical)

  • *Peter England – King Kong
  • Alex Basco Koch – Be More Chill
  • Peter Nigrini – Beetlejuice
  • Jeff Sugg – All My Sons
  • Tal Yarden – Network

The Executive Committee voted and decided upon the presentation of Special Achievement Awards to:

The Puppetry Team That Created and Operates King Kong recognizing the artistry and technical achievement that brings a 2,000-pound gorilla to life:
*Puppet designer and builder Sonny Tilders and the Creature Technology Company
*Scenic designer Peter England, who collaborated on the aesthetics of the puppet
*Aerial and movement director Gavin Robins
*The members of the King’s Company, who move Kong on stage: Mike Baerga, Rhaamell Burke-Missouri, Jōvan Dansberry, Casey Garvin, Gabriel Hyman, Marty Lawson, Roberto Olvera, Khadija Tariyan, Lauren Yalango-Grant, and David Yijae
*Kong’s Voodoo Operators, who control his facial expressions: Jon Hoche, Danny Miller, and Jacob Williams.

The York Theatre Company
James Morgan, Producing Artistic Director
Evans Haile, Executive Director
In recognition of 50 years of producing new musicals, as well as classics from the past

Outstanding New Broadway Play

  • *The Ferryman
  • Ink
  • Network
  • To Kill a Mockingbird
  • What the Constitution Means to Me

Outstanding New Broadway Musical

  • Be More Chill
  • *Hadestown
  • Head Over Heels
  • The Prom
  • Tootsie

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play

  • Fairview
  • The House That Will Not Stand
  • Lewiston / Clarkston
  • The Light
  • *White Noise

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical

  • The Beast in the Jungle
  • Black Light
  • *Girl from the North Country
  • The Hello Girls
  • Midnight at the Never Get

Outstanding Book of a Musical
(Broadway or Off-Broadway)

  • *Robert Horn – Tootsie
  • Conor McPherson – Girl from the North Country
  • Peter Mills and Cara Reichel – The Hello Girls
  • Anaïs Mitchell – Hadestown
  • Jeff Whitty and James Magruder – Head Over Heels

Outstanding New Score
(Broadway or Off-Broadway)

  • Matthew Sklar and Chad Beguelin –  The Prom
  • Joe Iconis – Be More Chill
  • Peter Mills – The Hello Girls
  • *Anaïs Mitchell – Hadestown
  • David Yazbeck – Tootsie

Outstanding Revival of a Play
(Broadway or Off-Broadway)

  • *All My Sons
  • By the Way, Meet Vera Stark
  • Juno and the Paycock
  • Our Lady of 121st Street
  • The Waverly Gallery

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
(Broadway or Off-Broadway)

  • Carmen Jones
  • *Fiddler on the Roof (in Yiddish)
  • Kiss Me, Kate
  • Oklahoma!
  • Smokey Joe’s Cafe

Outstanding Director of a Play

  • Rupert Goold – Ink
  • *Sam Mendes – The Ferryman
  • Jack O’Brien – All My Sons
  • Bartlett Sher – To Kill a Mockingbird
  • Logan Vaughn – The Light

Outstanding Director of a Musical

  • *Rachel Chavkin – Hadestown
  • Scott Ellis – Tootsie
  • Daniel Fish – Oklahoma!
  • Joel Grey – Fiddler on the Roof (in Yiddish)
  • Cara Reichel – The Hello Girls

Outstanding Choreographer

  • *Warren Carlyle – Kiss Me, Kate
  • Christopher Gattelli – The Cher Show
  • Denis Jones – Tootsie
  • David Neumann – Hadestown
  • Sergio Trujillo – Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of the Temptations

 Further information from The Outer Critics Circle: https://outercritics.org/

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!