Working from home? Switch to the DIGITAL edition of Stage Directions. CLICK HERE to signup now!

Outer Critics Circle Announce 2019-2020 Honorees via Video

Stage Directions • Theatre Buzz • May 11, 2020

May 11, 2020—The Outer Critics Circle (OCC), the official organization of writers on New York theater for out-of-town newspapers and national publications, today presented the recipients of this year’s special honors for the 2019-2020 Broadway and Off-Broadway season via video. The Outer Critics Circle’s milestone 70th Anniversary will be dedicated to celebrating widespread excellence in New York theater this season. Kristin Chenoweth, Bryan Cranston, Patti LuPone, Lin-Manuel Miranda, and Patrick Stewart announced this season’s honorees by video feed. You can watch the announcement video:

In light of the current and unprecedented period of suspension for live arts across the nation, the Outer Critics Circle’s milestone 70th Anniversary will be dedicated to celebrating widespread excellence in New York theater this season. In lieu of selecting traditional nominees with one winner from each category, the 70th Annual Outer Critics Circle Awards will celebrate up to five honorees in each of its twenty-six categories, in addition to four honorees for the annual John Gassner Award, commemorating works by new American playwrights. Each recipient of the Gassner Award will be awarded a monetary prize. The OCC will also make a donation to The Actors’ Fund for emergency relief efforts.

OCC President David Gordon said, “The Outer Critics Circle has thought long and hard about a way to honor the nearly 200 productions that opened this year, while also respecting those shows that were canceled, postponed, or forced to close shortly after opening. This format allows us to celebrate the truncated theater season, and our 70th anniversary, by creating a sense of communal joy at a time when we all need it most.”

Here are the Design Honorees:

Outstanding Scenic Design
(Play or Musical)

Rob Howell, A Christmas Carol
Tim Mackabee, Seared
Derek McLane, Moulin Rouge!
Clint Ramos, Grand Horizons
Anthony Ward, The Height of the Storm

Outstanding Costume Design
(Play or Musical)

Vanessa Leuck, Emojiland
Jeff Mahshie, Bob & Carol & Ted & Alice
Mark Thompson, Tina: The Tina Turner Musical
Rachel Townsend & Jessica Jahn, The Confession of Lily Dare
Catherine Zuber, Moulin Rouge!

Outstanding Lighting Design 
(Play or Musical)

Isabella Byrd, Heroes of the Fourth Turning
Heather Gilbert, The Sound Inside
Justin Townsend, Moulin Rouge!
Hugh Vanstone, A Christmas Carol
Hugh Vanstone, The Height of the Storm

Outstanding Projections Design
(Play or Musical)

Luke Halls, West Side Story
Brad Peterson, Broadway Bounty Hunter
Lisa Renkel and Possible Productions, Emojiland
Aaron Rhyne, The Sound Inside
Hannah Wasileski, Fires in the Mirror

Outstanding Sound Design
(Play or Musical)

Simon Baker, A Christmas Carol
Mikhail Fiksel, Dana H.
Peter Hylenski, Moulin Rouge!
Lee Kinney and Sanae Yamada, Is This A Room
Daniel Kluger, The Sound Inside

Further details to come with the full list of honorees.

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!